I sometimes wonder who I would be and where I would be had a I not made the decision to become a writer. I still want to do more with my life besides writing, but right now that’s become my main focus…one of them at least. If it weren’t for the fact that it’s possible to make a career out of creating worlds, characters, magic systems, circumstances and stories, where would George R.R. Martin be? Richard K. Morgan? Garth Nix? Duane Swierczynski? Would the world still be the same if it weren’t for all of the writers great and small?

The only thing that I love more than writing is singing. I like to think that I’m pretty good at it to, and I’m glad that other people feel the same way. If I weren’t a writer, I’d probably consider a singing career. I don’t know if I’d go for the tip of the top and try to become the next Adele, Janelle Monae, Jill Scott or Erykah Badu (as you can see, I mainly listen to female vocalists). I do enjoy the intimacy of lounge singing. There’s just something that appeals to me about connecting with a small crowd and having people swirl around on the dance floor while I sing and the band plays. One of my favorite artists is Tweet, and I really love her singing style and sound. If I were to become a singer, it would be her type of music that I’d create. Honest, raw, melodic and a bit melancholy.

Becoming a therapist is another profession I’ve thought about. I connect well with people one-on-one, like listening more than I speak, can read people rather well and feel that I give good advice. I’ve been interested in psychology for quite a while, and I’ve always wondered why people do the things that they do and live the way that they do. I also like helping people figure things out and get their lives back on track. It’s a shame that so many feel that they have no where to go and no one to talk to, at least no one that will listen. I’d probably do some work in the school system as well. With so many teenagers committing suicide because they’re being bullied, it’s painfully obvious that they need someone to open up to and connect with.

Becoming a detective or some kind of federal agent is another professional I’ve considered, but not strongly. I know those jobs are very little like what I see on TV and in movies, but I think it would be an interesting life. I like mysteries and intrigue and the idea of making the world a better place by locking up criminals . The only thing about being a detective is that I’ve heard so much about police corruption and officers having to fill a quota for arrests each month in order to keep their jobs. While I’d rather become a detective without first becoming a cop, I’m afraid it’s a necessary step. And there’s just something exciting about the idea of being a federal agent, traveling the nation and investigating crimes. I don’t know if I’d ever seriously consider either of these professions, but they are suits that I wouldn’t mind trying on for a while.

Before I discovered how much I loved writing, I thought I wanted to be a photojournalist (see my “Origin Story” post for the details). I think my main reason for that is that when you’re a teenager and you find out that you’re good at something and like it, you start thinking of it as a career. I still have a vague interest in photography even though I haven’t taken a picture in years that I didn’t intend to post on Facebook.  It’s blogs like “Canadian Hiking Photography” that pull me back. Thankfully I’ll be getting a new phone soon and can start taking pictures again without buying an expensive camera. I guess in a way I always knew that I wanted to tell stories, only I first wanted to tell them with pictures rather than words.

So I guess somewhere out there in a few dozen alternate universes I’m a photojournalist, detective, lounge singer, therapist and who knows what else. And maybe in one of those alternate universes I’m wondering what my life would be like had I decided to become a writer. Hmm, maybe someday I’ll get the chance to explore at least some of those lives in one of my stories. Can’t wait to meet me.

Take care out there.

What would you do if for some reason you couldn’t be a writer?

P.S. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs from Tweet, “C 4 EVA.” Enjoy.

