As promised, flash fiction! What do you think? Too much going on?

 

The scream wrinkles and warps the air.

Bluejay clamps his teeth down over the cry. The bloody tear in his glove gapes open as he slowly relaxes his numbed grip. His arm hangs loose and his vision pixilates with pain.

Lahavas eyes him. “I could’ve reset your shoulder for you.”

“Y-y-y…” Bluejay presses his lips. “You don’t know how and we don’t have time.” He stands in a hunch, taking in sips of air. “Where are they?”

The trussed up man splayed out between them lazily rolls his half-closed eyes left…right. “Who?”

Lahavas pops him in the mouth with her boot. “I lost my patience somewhere in this three-hour super slug-fest, Ocelot. Where are the pages you downloaded?”

Ocelot studies the sunset suffused through the stack of thinning black smoke, dragging his heel through the dirt and wriggling his shoulders.

“He’s not gonna tell us.” Lahavas steps away, fists on hips. “Where’s MM?”

Her partner’s expression collapses from suppressed pain to thinly veiled sorrow. He studies the rubble before turning to the blown-out building on their right.

Lahavas flicks her gaze right. Eyes widen. “No.” Barely perceptible head shake. “I thought she–” Back to Bluejay. “She was on-mind with us the whole time. I to–”

“She couldn’t link us up and keep up the broadcasted illusion back in the city. She made a choice.” He blinks smoke from his eyes, clearing tears.

“When were you gonna tell me?”

Chin jerk at Ocelot.

Ocelot chuckles. “That’s the third teammate you’ve lost this year.” Lips split over pearly teeth. “Did you buy them in bulk?” His laugh is wild, savage.

Bluejay’s sudden punch abbreviates the moment of mirth. “Tell us. Where. The pages. Are.”

The psychotic swallows a glob of his own blood. “Three pages for three dead super-hood rats. Fair enough. I printed two pages out.” A flash of bloody teeth. “The first one is under Compendium’s body in her grave. The second I mailed to Ten’s father, who’s still waiting for his son to come home. The third is…”

Weary heroes edge glances at the demolished building.

“The third I tattooed…on my ass.”

Lahavas wrinkles her nose. Bluejay curls his lip.

Ocelot starts to laugh again…

…then lulls unconscious when Bluejay belts him in the temple using his good arm. He whirls around, cape swaying. “Drag him back to the Marvel. I’m going to recover MM’s body.”

“Blue, you can’t even lift the debris from…”

“Suit amps up my strength. Want me to use that strength on MM, or on punching his head to a gory smear?” He stomps off over debris. “Make me stay with him and I’ll kill ‘im, then you’ll have to kill me.”

Lahavas drops her hand, looking at Ocelot’s unconscious form, eyeing his head and imaging what it would look like as a…“gory smear.”

She snatches him up by his tattered hood and drags him over twisted, blasted and burnt debris back to the jet.

